CBCA 2735

CPR Restoration, LLC

May 3, 2012Judge VergilioDEPARTMENT OF VETERANS AFFAIRS
Not published in the listingDismissed on other grounds

Key Facts

Appellant
CPR Restoration, LLC
Respondent agency
DEPARTMENT OF VETERANS AFFAIRS
Judge
Vergilio
Case number
CBCA 2735
Decided
May 3, 2012The decision states May 3, 2012 on its own face, which agrees with the listing.
Decision type
Not published in the listingThe Board's year tables for 2007 through 2014 carry no Type column, so no disposition was published for this decision. It is not missing data and nothing is inferred from the document.
Law firm for the appellant
J. Scott Watson, P.C.
Outcome
Dismissed on other grounds
The Board DISMISSES this appeal.
Read from the shouted disposition line the Board prints above this decision's own date, and quoted from its operative sentence above. No model is involved.

Topics

Jurisdiction and timeliness

Topics are derived from each decision's own text by keyword rules, not a classification by the Board. A decision matching several topics carries all of them, so topic counts sum above the number of decisions.

Appearances

For the appellant
Gregory J. Allard
J. Scott Watson, P.C.
Glen Mills, PA
For the respondent
Jennifer Hedge
Office of Regional Counsel, Department of Veterans Affairs
Pittsburgh, PA
Decision PDF (cbca.gov) Civilian Board of Contract Appeals, Contract Disputes Act casesThe Board's year listing this row was read fromThe decision document is hosted by the Board itself, so it is an official copy, and the Board's own Contract Disputes Act case listing is the citable source. The topics, the disposition and the appearances above are read deterministically from the decision's own words; no model is involved.

Research This Decision

Create a free account to open this decision in the CBCA workspace: a grounded decision brief drafted from the Board's own words, the Insights dashboard over the whole corpus, and the filtered browser.

CBCA Decision Brief

A Workflows Hub brief on this decision, drafted from the captured text with every quote and authority checked against it.

Insights

Who prevails before the Board, by topic and by judge, with every denominator visible: merits rulings, not decisions.

Browse with Filters

The whole corpus by year, decision type, topic, judge and disposition, searchable across the decisions' own text.

Full Decision

Full text of the decision4 pages, 7,528 characters, read from the Board's own documentDecided May 3, 2012 on its own faceRespondent DEPARTMENT OF VETERANS AFFAIRS Decision documentOfficial source: Civilian Board of Contract Appeals, Contract Disputes Act cases

Cases cited

2 cases this decision cites, grouped by the forum that decided each, in the order it first names them. 1 of them opens at a publisher; the rest are shown without a link because no published copy of them was confirmed.

Supreme Court1
Federal Crop Insurance Corp. v. Merrill322 U.S. 380(1947)

Read from the decision's own words with no model involved: the party names and the citation are as the decision prints them. A case cited to a reporter is not held here, so where it opens was confirmed one citation at a time against an outside database and is labelled as leaving this app; a citation that database could not place, or matched to more than one case, is shown without a link rather than guessed at. A case named without a citation of any kind carries nothing to read, so it is left out rather than guessed at, and this is a floor on what the decision cites.

DISMISSED: May 3, 2012

CBCA 2735

CPR RESTORATION, LLC,

Appellant,

v.

DEPARTMENT OF VETERANS AFFAIRS,

Respondent.

The case caption as the decision prints it. Every word is kept; the rule the Board draws around it is not text, so it is not repeated here.

Gregory J. Allard of J. Scott Watson, P.C., Glen Mills, PA, counsel for Appellant. Jennifer Hedge, Office of Regional Counsel, Department of Veterans Affairs, Pittsburgh, PA, counsel for Respondent.

Before Board Judges BORWICK, VERGILIO, and KULLBERG.

VERGILIO, Board Judge.

On February 9, 2012, the Board received a notice of appeal from CPR Restoration, LLC (appellant) involving the respondent, the Department of Veterans Affairs (agency). Appellant seeks payment of $279,363 for emergency restoration services it claims to have performed for the agency at an agency hospital in Philadelphia. A contracting officer (references to a contracting officer are to the agency contracting officer of the contract between the contractor and agency) denied the request for payment, concluding that appellant performed the work as a subcontractor to a contractor to the agency, such that the contractor, not the agency, is responsible for paying appellant. Further, the contracting officer determined that an agency employee who signed the documents purporting to be contracts between appellant and the agency lacked contracting authority; no one with contracting authority ratified the alleged agreements. The record has closed on the initial issue of the status of appellant as a contractor or not and its ability to pursue this case at the Board. 2 CBCA 2735

The Board concludes that appellant lacks a contract with the agency. The agency employees who signed the purported contracts were without contracting authority; the purported contracts have not been ratified by an agency employee with contracting authority. It appears that appellant performed the services for which it seeks compensation as a subcontractor to a contractor to the agency. As a subcontractor, appellant may not file an appeal directly with this Board; a contractor (not a subcontractor) is the proper party to file an appeal after a proper contractor claim has been denied (in fact or as a deemed denial) by a contracting officer. Because appellant has failed to base its appeal upon a proper claim for which the Board can grant relief, the appeal is dismissed.

Findings of Fact

1. On March 17, 2010, a fire occurred in the work area of a construction contractor to the agency in a hospital in Philadelphia. Water and other damage occurred in the building. That contractor utilized appellant to perform restoration and cleaning services at the facility. The contractor coordinated the repair and restoration efforts with appellant and the agency, among others including an insurance company to the contractor. Exhibits 1 at 1-2; 3 at 6; 11 at 26, 18 at 176 (all exhibits are in the appeal file).

2. Appellant has presented three documents (forms on its own letterhead) which it purports to be written contracts between appellant and the agency to perform work. Two of these purported authorizations are dated March 17, 2010; one is dated June 28, 2010. The documents state that appellant is to proceed with recommended procedures to preserve, protect, and secure from further damage the property; the documents purport to make the agency responsible for any and all charges and/or costs not paid to appellant by an insurance company. Each document bears the signature of an employee of appellant and a then-employee of the agency. Exhibit 13 at 160-62.

3. The factual record indicates that the then-employees of the agency lacked authority to enter into contracts on behalf of the agency. Exhibit 14 at 163. The record does not demonstrate that anyone with contracting authority ratified any of the purported agreements or entered into a contract with appellant to perform the work underlying this dispute.

4. By letter dated July 7, 2010, appellant sought payment of $270,465.77 from the agency. Exhibit 2 at 4-5. The contracting officer informed appellant that the agency did not hire appellant and could not pay appellant as a subcontractor. The contracting officer informed the contractor, by letter dated July 16, 2010, of subcontractor requests for payment being made to the agency. Exhibit 3 at 6.

3 CBCA 2735

5. By letter dated April 14, 2011, to the contracting officer, appellant sought payment of $279,363. This amount is comprised of $270,465.77, for work invoiced in March 2010; $4595, for work invoiced in April 2010; and $4302.23, for work invoiced in July 2010. Exhibit 13.

6. By letter dated June 2, 2011, the contracting officer denied appellant’s request for payment. The determination notes the bases for denial. First, the agency did not contract with appellant; rather, appellant contracted with a contractor to the agency. Second, individuals who may have signed appellant’s form authorizing the work lacked authority to bind the Government (each employee was not a contracting officer, lacked a warrant, and was not in the purchasing department). Exhibit 14 at 163. The record contains no indication that appellant received this determination prior to February 2012. Exhibit 15 at 165. 7. By letter dated January 12, 2012, appellant (through counsel) sought a decision on the request for payment of $279,363. Exhibit 15 at 165. In February 2012, appellant (through counsel) received the decision (dated June 2, 2011, Finding 6) denying the request for payment. Exhibits 16 at 166-67; 18 at 176.

8. On February 9, 2012, appellant filed a notice of appeal, seeking $279,363.

Discussion

Appellant has not demonstrated that it is a contractor with the agency, through an actual or an implied contract. Appellant relies upon documents signed by its employees and agency employees. The record does not demonstrate that an individual with contracting authority signed the agreements of behalf of the agency. Such an agreement, signed by one without contracting authority, does not bind the agency. Federal Crop Insurance Corp. v. Merrill, 322 U.S. 380 (1947). The record also does not establish that an agency employee with contracting authority ratified the agreement; rather, the agency understood that appellant performed as a subcontractor to a contractor to the agency. Under the circumstances, an actual or an implied contract with the agency did not arise.

In this instance, appellant lacks a contract with the agency for the work performed. Accordingly, appellant was not a contractor. Not being a contractor, appellant could not submit a claim directly to the contracting officer, nor could the contracting officer issue a decision (decisions relate to claims by a contractor or the Federal Government). 41 U.S.C.A. §§ 7101 (contractor definition), 7103(a), (b) (2011). Because appellant was not a contractor and lacked an actual or deemed denial of a claim by a contracting officer, statute does not authorize appellant to file an appeal at this Board. 41 U.S.C.A. §§ 7104(a), 7105(e)(1)(B). These conclusions moot addressing the apparent lack of a certified claim.

______________________________

______________________________ ______________________________

4 CBCA 2735

Lacking an actual or implied contract with the agency, this appellant may not avail itself of this Board’s authority to resolve contractual disputes. Appellant has failed to prove the necessary elements of a cause for which relief could be granted. Engage Learning, Inc. v. Salazar, 660 F.3d 1346, 1353 (Fed. Cir. 2011).

Decision

The Board DISMISSES this appeal.

JOSEPH A. VERGILIO

Board Judge

We concur:

ANTHONY S. BORWICK

Board Judge

H. CHUCK KULLBERG

Board Judge

This is a verbatim capture of the text layer of the Board's own document in CPR Restoration, LLC, CBCA 2735. Nothing is summarized or reworded, and the sections run in the order the Board wrote them. What the page shows and the text does not repeat is the pagination furniture: the page numbers and the rules the Board draws around its caption and under its signatures. The signatures are set back into the columns the Board prints them in, each judge under the name he or she signed, and the typed copy of that name the page carries beneath each signature is not repeated.

Related Decisions

Same Judge

Same Topic

Newsletter

New decisions every Monday

GovConDash Weekly lists the decisions GAO, the boards, the courts and SBA OHA released that week, alongside the FAR Overhaul deviations and proposed rules that reach every contractor. Free.

Free, weekly, and one click to unsubscribe. We send a confirmation email first. See our Privacy Policy.